Carnegie Sportive – 4th Sep ’22

4th September 2022

Raising funds for the Carnegie Hall, Sandwick, The Carnegie Sportive is a non-competitive cycle event. Cyclists of all ages are welcome to challenge themselves over 5 miles (juniors), 25 miles or a challenging 50 mile route.


You can enter online through British Cycling, soon. This will entitle you to a discounted price of £16 (+£1 admin fee) and reduce registration faff on the day.

On the day entry

The entry fee on the day is £20 for both the 25 and 50-mile routes. The Junior ride entry fee is £5. Adults can also ride with their kids. Please bring cash with you to enter on the day.

On arrival

Please park by the Sandwick Junior High School as the hall limits parking. Please adhere to any local Covid restrictions – wear a mask if you have to enter the hall, we will hope to have sign on outside, but this might not be possible if the weather doesn’t allow it.


Registration is open between 9am and 9:45am. You should be registered before the event brief at 9:45am which everyone MUST attend. Roll out from Sandwick Hall for all routes will be at 10am.

Junior Ride

Open 8-17yr olds. We will leave the start right after the main event and ride out to Noness. There are options to turn back if this is too far. Please wear a helmet during your ride.

25 Mile Ride

Looping round Clumlie and Spiggie, this beautiful route is sure to get your heart pumping. A food station at Mainland’s will give you the boost to tackle Spiggie Hotel hill!

50 Mile Ride

You can tackle the 50-mile route for the extra challenge, which is twice around the Clumlie/Spiggie. Not for the faint-hearted as there are many hills to conquer. We would ask that if you think you won’t complete the first lap in under 2hrs, please consider the 25-mile ride.


Under 16’s are allowed to ride the 25 or 50-mile routes but must be accompanied b an adult.
Veloform workshop will be there for minor repairs and assistance. However, please ensure your bike is ready to ride on the day. Teas and refreshments will be provided afterwards at the Carnegie Hall (if restrictions allow)

Any further questions, please don’t hesitate to ask Robin Atkinson or contact

2021 Times:

25 mile:
Stewart Hutchison – 1hr28
Liam Anderson – 1hr29
Craig Irvine – 1hr34
George Simpson – 1hr38
Eric Porter – 1hr41
Harris Porter – 1hr41
Jacqueline Tulloch – 1hr52
Anne Bennet – 1hr58
David Mouat – 2hr03
Cheryl Mouat – 2hr03
Una Simpson – 2hr04
Sonia Holland – 2hr06
Neil Beattie – 2hr13
Merran Nugent – 2hr14
Alison Williamson 2hr14
Maya Hewins – 2hr23
Raymond Saxelby – 2hr25
Elizabeth Gifford – 2hr29
Alexandra Gundry – 2hr50
Mark Fraser – 2hr50

50 mile:

Andrew Grant – 2hr36
Iain McDiarmid – 2hrs49
Mark Moncreiff – 2hr50
Lewis Anderson – 2hr53
Karl Bolt – 2hr56
Elizabeth Atia – 2hrs57
Brian Dempster 3hr00
Andrew Farquhar 3hrs00
Gary Robinson – 3hr18
Paul Baxter – 3hrs1